Call that short hair!

This has really been bugging me recently, and as someone who ACTUALLY has short hair I feel like I need to speak up. So here goes….

Dear women of the internet and beyond,

If you have hair which is around your shoulders, you do not have short hair! Please stop labelling videos and articles, ‘Cool short hair styles’ or ‘How to style short hair’ when in fact you are talking about what can only accurately be described as medium or long hair. It is very misleading to those of us who actually do have short hair.

This is how I break-down hair lengths for those of you who aren’t sure, and I honestly thought this was widely accepted as fact (until this recent flurry of mislabelled short hair content).

Short hair – bulk of your hair is above your chin

Example (current/ recent me):

12513495_10153418277911491_2637605486579017479_o

Mid (or medium length) hair – hair is between your chin and shoulders (note this does, for me at least, include shoulder length hair)

Example (me from about 3-4 years ago):

970174_10151531486476491_1238254366_n

Long hair – your hair (or at least most of it) goes beyond your shoulders

Example (me from a long time ago):

2226_55033046490_475_n

Recently people seem to have abandoned the idea of mid length hair and boiled it down to long or short, which is simply not useful or representative! Of course there are nuances and lets not even go into super short hair (which is mostly shorter than ear length, I’m talking pixie cut or shaved). This is still a simplistic look at hair lengths but I think it is more helpful. I would know not to get excited about ‘6 new ways to style mid length hair’, as I currently have short hair.

Maybe it is just that short hair is easier to say and type. Maybe we need to agree a better term; mid hair? midi hair? medium hair?

Okay, so this was a weird personal rant, it’s just as someone who has short hair I hate getting excited over what turns out to be irrelevant content.

End of rant.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

