Coconut oil as make-up remover

Anyone who knows me can testify that I wear a lot of make-up, in particular dark eye liner. I just love it.

[Insert selfie collage as evidence.]

11902278_10153135234166491_2177502316216373719_n

This looks great, but come bedtime it can be a real pain in the bum to get off. For many years I struggled with make-up wipes, rubbing my eyes red raw to get it all off and with my skin often stinging afterwards, due to the shear elbow grease that has been put into getting make-up off such a delicate area of skin. I didn’t feel this was very good for my long term eye or skin health, and longed for another answer, yet felt unsure of where to look as everything else I’d tried had failed and this just seemed the easiest solution.

Thankfully I found the answer, very much by accident, in a video posted to YouTube by Kiera Rose (who is a great YouTuber I recommend you check her out). She happened to mention that she uses coconut oil to remove make-up and I thought this sounded interesting. After doing some research of my own, I found that coconut oil does indeed seems to be one of these miracle natural products that has a 101 different uses, with make-up removal being among them.

It is also super simple to use and easy to get your hands on. You can find it in any mainstream supermarket, often with the cooking oils, although I am starting to notice it more in beauty aisles as well. Just a note, if you are using pure coconut oil it doesn’t matter which aisle you buy it from, so just get whichever one is cheapest/ looks nicest to you.

When you have your coconut oil I find it helpful to decant it into a smaller tub, just so it is easier to scoop up.

When you want to use it simply scoop a small amount on your fingers and rub them together a little to melt it a bit. Then rub it in a circular motion over your closed eyes, eyebrows, lips, wherever you have stubborn make-up you want to remove. You can then simply wipe it off with a cotton pad or similar, however once I have my face all oiled up I like to wash it off with soap and water. I then simply pat it dry with a towel and have beautiful make-up free skin 🙂

WARNING, this process will make you look like a panda temporarily.

11181799_10153077361916491_7324371028841113462_o

 

Leave a Reply

