Glasses

I wear glasses. I’ve needed them for the past 21 years, although have only really started wearing them properly in the last 5 or 6 years. By properly here I mean full time.

When I first got glasses I was 6 years old, and I was pretty good at wearing them at school. Then I decided I didn’t want to wear glasses because I didn’t look as pretty (a ridiculous sentiment I now realise). When I moved into my teenage years I did wear my glasses occasionally (my vision was getting worse and I was getting more headaches for not wearing them), but I didn’t really like any of the styles I could get from the high street. I wanted Kurt Cobain’s glasses. Well, I don’t know if they were glasses he wore often, but I remember seeing him wearing them in a picture and thinking, ‘Yes!!! Those are the kind of glasses I want!’ Alas, I could not find them and I was stuck in narrower frames.

kurtcobain21

I went to uni, where I soon discovered I didn’t really have a choice but to wear my glasses. I was getting worse headaches and my vision was getting worse. It still isn’t awful, I can manage about 15 minutes glasses free in the morning before I get a headache, and even without my glasses I can still see, everything is just more like an original version of a 80’s TV show, just a little soft around the edge, and as for reading, forget it, no chance of me doing that without glasses! So I embraced wearing my glasses. I had ones with thick plastic frames, they were still narrow but it was a compromise. Naturally, towards the end of my teens I started feeling more confident in myself as well, and embracing ‘me’ more so it all kind of fell together. I started wearing glasses full time (not for showering or sleeping).

Then this wonderful thing happened to me, I discovered my independence! It didn’t happen at uni, well it was technically in a uni, but it was when I was working there after graduating. Financial independence really was the next step in me becoming more of my own person, and so I started to explore more of my own ways of doing things – whereas before I had just done things the way my parents had e.g. going to high street opticians and buying their expensive glasses. At that time a colleague was getting new glasses and brought in his free trial from Glasses Direct. This got me thinking, why haven’t I tried a service like this? So I started to investigate. Long story short, I’m now in love!

For the past 4 years I have gotten my glasses online from Glasses Direct and I love it. The free home-trial is great, as you can ask loads of different people and take selfies without feeling weird. After all when picking a set of frames you need to make sure they are Instagram worthy. It also means you can take a longer time to survey friends and relatives opinions (and then completely ignore them and get the ones you wanted any ways because it’s about pleasing yourself and not other people, after all it’s your face!)

11139970_10152846292141491_7292783052903051260_n.jpg

That’s me trying out sunglasses last year (you can get the lenses tinted when you buy them). Spoiler I went for number 1.

The ordering process is then also super simple, just get a copy of your prescription from your optician (note, they should give you a copy of this when you get an eye test done any way, so make sure you have it). Enter the prescription when prompted, choose lenses coating options (all much cheaper than I came across on the high street, we’re talking anti-scratch and anti-reflect which I cannot cope without now days). As I mentioned above you can then add a tint to the lenses to make them sunglasses. Place the order and then wait a couple days, to a couple weeks, and your glasses come in the post.

If you have plastic frames and you need to adjust the arms (make them shorter for example) this can easily be done with a hair-dryer and some gentle bending. I’ve done it successfully before, and it wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be. Maybe I’ll make a video on how to do it at some point. In the meantime they do have advice on their website on doing all sorts of glasses adjustments.

This isn’t an advert for Glasses Direct by the way, I mean I guess it kind of is but they aren’t paying me. I wish they were. Hello Glasses Direct, if you need an advocate I am all in!

Last thing, I do have a code available as part of their ‘recommend a friend’ scheme. This is something that is open to all users. Basically if you use this link to order your first pair of glasses with them you get £30 off and I get a £15 Amazon voucher. There are certain Ts&Cs, for example the glasses have to be over £55 and not part of the boutique range, but check it out and see if there is anything you like!

https://glassesdirect.mention-me.com/m/ol/aap-domi-sinclair

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

