Dresses that impress

I’m not really sure how to write this blog post without sounding slightly egotistical, so instead, I will just embrace that.

Dresses are a really wonderful invention. They are so comfortable and stylish at the same time. Wearing a dress you instantly look smarter than if you were to wear jeans and a t-shirt and quite honestly if you have the right dress, it is more comfortable as well. I have been wearing mostly dresses for the past 3 years and I can’t imagine cutting them out of my wardrobe. When I go out, whether it is to work or for leisure, I often get compliments on my dresses and people asking me where I get them from. If you are one of those people then pay attention to this post, as I reveal my dress secrets.

Secret 1: Where to buy?

So no surprises here I’m sure, but I buy most of my dresses online from Amazon and eBay. I can sometimes get them from physical shops, but this would mean going somewhere funky like Brighton – which is easy for me now I work there, but wouldn;t have been very practical before. So online is the best option here, you’ll also be able to shop directly with some brands that way, and they more often have deals.

Other online retailers that I’ve used include:

Secret 2: Style

As for searching for anything online, the thing you need to know is keywords. The style of dress I wear can normally be classed as ‘rockabilly’, so that is a word I often use in searches. For example, I might search eBay for, ‘Red rockabilly dresses’ if I wanted red for a particular event. Other words I use are; 50s dresses, 40s dresses, 1050s dresses, 1940s dresses, retro dress, tea dress, or swing dress. That’s just me though, you might prefer a slightly different style, for example, wiggle/pencil dresses – I just can’t be bothered with all the undergarments I’d need to make those look good!

Secret 3: Brands

Personally, I have found a few brands I really like. I know these brands are good quality, suit my personal style and I know which size* will fit me. They have really fun funky patterns and designs as well. I will of course, also occasionally shop outside of these brands, and there are some other brands I’d like to buy more of but I can never find them cheap. Most of the below brands you’ll find on eBay for approx. £10 (sometimes second-hand, sometimes new but not worn.)

The brands I like to shop for are:

*The size might vary with fabrics, for example I know if it’s a chiffon or organza type fabric it will have no give and so I might get a bigger size. Some websites (such as Lindy Bop) have a size guide under each dress and this is always worth checking as they can vary a little from style to style.

So there you have it, my little secrets of what to search for and where to look have been revealed. I hope that you found this useful, and can go forth and look fabulous!

Leave a Reply

